Literary Salons, Anon 7 and simultaneous blogging

1 Jul

This week, for the first time ever, I attended a Literary Salon.  It was my cousin who suggested that we go along, and I really wasn’t sure what to expect.  The word Salon puts me in mind of all the 17th or 19th century groups, that you read about in historical novels.  However, there was very little old fashioned about the Edinburgh City of Literature Salon.  Unfortunately due to bus’s I missed the first part of the evening, but the atmosphere was warm and relaxed and is set out to be very friendly.  If you don’t believe me, the Guardian’s Edinburgh correspondent, Tom Allen, was there and has blogged his thoughts on the Salon.

I was also very pleased to bump into Colin and Peggy of Anon, and pick up the latest edition Anon 7, which I am planning to spend my Sunday reading.  I always enjoy Anon, and love the ethos of an anonymous submissions system, which I note from the website has a swanky new poets interface.  Their ethos means that it really has become a must have publication for me to see my work in, and I am determined that one day I will manage it.

The simultaneous blogging experiment is starting to pick up a-pace.  Poets such as Claire Askew, Kevin Cadwallender, Russell Jones and Sally Evans are taking part.  Thanks also goes to Sally and Rob MacKenzie for their help in promoting the idea.  I’m keeping things open for a few more days to see who is interested, but will be starting soon, so if you want to take part, please say now.

4 Responses to “Literary Salons, Anon 7 and simultaneous blogging”

  1. C July 1, 2010 at 8:27 pm #

    I love how portable Anon 7 is! Have been dipping in and out of it on my London trip, it’s great.
    Also, definitely count me in for simultaneous blogging– glad to see our wee idea taken to such great heights!

    Caroline

    http://www.carolinemarycrew.wordpress.com

  2. alumpinthethroat July 2, 2010 at 6:17 am #

    Great Caroline,

    Glad you’ll take part, you were the inspiration after all, so it feels right that you will be blogging with us to.

    Can you send me your details, i.e. email address and a blog link in an email to me at mairisharratt@yahoo.co.uk. Then expect something next week with some instructions.

    Thanks again
    Mairi

  3. alumpinthethroat July 2, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    Oh, and portable – yeah. Like a literary person’s Glamour mag!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. One Night Stanzas » Blog Archive » Procrastination Station #76 - July 3, 2010

    […] Stephen Nelson at Heine Site // I loved this at a handful of stones // Regina Green at nibble! // Mairi Sharratt’s new project for poetry bloggers — get on board! // and Vulpes Libris reviewed War Games, one of my recent […]

Leave a comment