You can join in if you want..?

5 Jun

So, I have been very tardy in my blogging of late, for which I do apologise. I have some interesting/exciting ideas at the moment on the blog front, and if they do come to fruition you should be hearing about them soon. In fact, I have quite a lot of projects on the go at the moment, but none of them are things I can really talk about yet, so you shall have to wait I’m afraid.

So for the moment I will tell you about the one I can talk about, and you can join in if you want. I’m currently collecting a list of “Things We Think But Never Say.” It’s going to be a kind of found poem. It’s a poem we all find within ourselves, if we are willing to be honest and look hard enough at the less attractive parts of ourselves. If you would like to join in you can add your contribution in the comments below or email me mairisharratt@yahoo.co.uk or tweet it to me @lumpinthethroat. I might put it in a book or something…

Contributions so far, mainly from myself and Jacq Kelly are below. I wish you luck in searching.

My grief is better than your grief

I don’t love you, I need you.

I’m better than you.

I wish you had more courage.

You bore me.

13 Responses to “You can join in if you want..?”

  1. Jacq June 5, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    “You bore me” is a thing I often think when people are talking at me (usually men who I didn’t initiate the conversation with in the first place). I tend to tell them though.

    • alumpinthethroat June 5, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

      I think it’s unusual for people to be that upfront. Imagine what the work place would be like if people said that kind of shit. please check out my blog http://www.alumpinthethroat.wordpress.com or catch me on Twitter @lumpinthethroat

      • Jacq June 5, 2011 at 12:23 pm #

        oh yeah totally – I do keep schtum at work in the main – it is usually the boring man in the pub who assumes that I must be much more interested in his back-story than actually just watching the football in peace.

      • alumpinthethroat June 5, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

        They are lonely lonely people. please check out my blog http://www.alumpinthethroat.wordpress.com or catch me on Twitter @lumpinthethroat

  2. Mary Clark June 5, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

    Yes, I do want a 3rd piece of cake.

  3. Mary Clark June 5, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Yes, I do think I’m better at _____ than you are.

  4. Jacq June 5, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    You broke my heart.

    That’s one of the few things I never let myself say. For some reason.

  5. Nuala June 5, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    My kid is better than your kid.

    (So unsayable, I am really unsure about pressing post.)

    • alumpinthethroat June 5, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

      HA! Yes. This is a truth – people think that, but you couldn’t ever really say it and mean it, or in jest…

  6. Steve June 10, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    “Just shut the f@*k up – I couldn’t give a toss if you want to be a DJ – you’re working with me today now get to work” – I think I’ve said something similar to this young chap (or is that chav) who btw doesn’t work with me anymore – and neither is he a DJ 🙂

    • alumpinthethroat June 10, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      I have a feeling there are many many variations on the “Just shut the f@ck up” theme.

  7. Titus June 10, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    Mother, you were right.

Leave a Reply

