I promised you exciting news…

9 Apr

So, in my last blog post I promised you some exciting news, and here it is…

I have a publisher!  Yes, it’s quite exciting isn’t it?

Red Squirrel Press, who also publish lots of other talented poets I know, will be bringing out my first pamphlet, which is serving as a double pamphlet entitled This is a Poem/A Violation of Expectation.  There is no fixed date as yet, and a process of proofing and editing to go through, but you may well see it by the end of the year.

To add to my delight, my good friend, and artist Alastair Cook will be working on the cover.

There you go.

8 Responses to “I promised you exciting news…”

  1. Jacq April 9, 2011 at 12:11 pm #

    That is excellent news!!!!!!!!!!!!! A thousand hurrays! No – a million!

    I shall toast you when I am back from my retreat. Hurray again!

  2. Mary April 9, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    I am doing a happy bumblee dance, looping figure eights spiralling around my kitchen. This is fabulous and welcome news. Guess that is you out of the Bitter Unpublished Rejects Club (or whatever you called it) that you were threatening to organise a few months ago….HOORAY.

    • alumpinthethroat April 9, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

      Hooray indeed – you will have to show my the bumble bee dance in person. Perhapse as a kind of performace art piece?

      • Titus April 10, 2011 at 12:55 am #

        Wow! Congratulations!
        I’m looking forward to it already…

  3. Gordon Mason April 10, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Well done, Maria!

    • alumpinthethroat April 10, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

      Thanks Gordon and JoAnn, I’m excited like a small child. And starting to plan my second pamphlet too of course.

      In fact Gordon, the poem of mine that you published is in the second half of the pamphlet, so I’ll make sure you get acknowledgement!

      Mairi

  4. Ellen Arnison April 17, 2011 at 9:46 am #

    That is exciting news – congratulations.

  5. julietwilson April 17, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Congratulations!

    Juliet
    Crafty Green poet
    http://craftygreenpoet.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

