Denounced by the Pope

7 Feb

Every writer has to at one point think about what constitutes success for them, to be published by a certain publisher, have your work praised by certain peers or win a coveted prize.  In my early days of writing I used to idly dream of having my work denounced by the Pope.  I am pretty sure that even the most religious of my readers will agree, and there are a few, that having the Holy See cast me in the shape of sin would do wonders for book sales, as well as assuring my place as a footnote in literary history, and obscure quiz questions.

However, having mellowed as I’ve grown older I’ve also become a little more realistic, and decided that my ambition is no longer to be denounced by God’s representative on earth.  So who do I want to be denounced by now?  Well, it could only be Jan Moir, or indeed the Daily Mail in general.  I find it hard to put into words how much I despise the Daily Mail, mainly because I am locked in a destructive relationship with it, where I feel compelled to read it every day while inside seething with disgust.

So how am I going to achieve this – well, I took the first step this week, by having work accepted to Forest Publications erotic anthology Bed Time Stories:  The Second Coming.  I can just feel I’m slowly turning into a threat to family values.

7 Responses to “Denounced by the Pope”

  1. discoverfineacting February 8, 2011 at 2:54 pm #

    Thanks for the laugh, and have fun!

  2. discoverfineacting February 8, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Thanks for the laugh, and have fun! (Oh, and stop reading that rubbish – or mentioning it by name, at least: the amount of publicity it gets from folk that don’t like it!)

    • alumpinthethroat February 9, 2011 at 9:33 pm #

      Your right, we do give it too much publicity.

      • Titus February 11, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

        Lumme!

  3. Rapid Gigabitz February 11, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    i resort a fancy choose it Denounced by the Pope « A lump in the throat it being to such a degree that im your rss reader

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. World Spinner - February 8, 2011

    Denounced by the Pope « A lump in the throat…

    Here at World Spinner we are debating the same thing……

  2. Democracy, Devine and the Daily Mail – a snapshot of Scotland’s Blogosphere – Scottish Roundup - February 13, 2011

    […] with the Daily Express while another couple of bloggers have issues with the Daily Mail. Mairi is struggling with her daily reading addiction and Ellen has some tips which may help. Go for it […]

Leave a Reply

