Last stones

31 Jan

These are my last stones, from the wonderful Small Stone Writing project.  The project has been successful for me on a personal level as it was challenging, to write everyday and observe the minutia of a moment, but also utterly do-able for anyone whether they are a writer or not.  I hope over the next month, to compile some links to some of my favorite stones from other writers, but if you can’t wait that long then please go to the A River of Stones site and start exploring for yourself.

24th

The moon is a badly kept secret among clouds.

25th

The wool, so tangled,

my fingers pick

but instead become part.

26th

A waxing then waning

in the heart

leaves it flabby and wrinkled,

like the soft stomach skin

of a weight loss winner.

27th

The radio sings

and wraps me warm

as an old friend should.

28th

Focus and clarity

fade and sharpen quickly,

like the blossom of the sea anemone.

30th

Arm wrapped round

the warm small thing

I love.

31st

The map sits with satin sheen,

preserved bubbles bulge underneath,

but never breaking the surface of that sea.

2 Responses to “Last stones”

  1. Titus February 1, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Lovely again. The 24th is an absolute stunner!

    • alumpinthethroat February 2, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Thank you JoAnne. I was quite pleased with that one, but like all the best things I write, it seamed that I didn’t write it as much as it let itself be known to me.

Leave a Reply

