Penultimate stones

22 Jan

15th – Unfortunately beer induced forgetting means I didn’t write a stone today.

16th – Reflection

Each dot of rain

highlighted by orange.

Behind, an unsubstantial room,

who’s inhabitants are

taller than the high-rises.

17th – Meditation

Wanting some serene

but it keeps on cracking

from hop, skip dancing

and the beat that’s always tapping

with no silence in between.

18th – Inverleith

I heard a mute swan in flight.

The sound – fingers on plastic.

19th

The pressure has expanded the heart

it’s epicenter now around the clavicles

with aftershocks in the lips and tip of the nose.

As I wonder, am I making a  mistake?

20th – Embarrassment

I often wonder how they can,

(Those caverns measureless to man)

never open up their span

and swallow me.

21st – More running

The frosted frozen grass

crunches under my feet

like Ryveta.

22nd – Maudlin

A flower from which

every petal was slowly picked.

6 Responses to “Penultimate stones”

  1. Mary Clark January 22, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    I love the crackle of frosted grass & leaves. Thanks for reminding me of the pleasures of stamping on frost-hardened things! If there’s another freezing fog tonight I’ll go for an early morning stomp tomorrow.

  2. Sam Pennington January 22, 2011 at 10:08 pm #

    I enjoyed reading these, especially the one about the mute swan sounding like fingers on plastic, and the frosted grass being like ryvita. Really good images, very evocative xx

  3. Rachel J Fenton January 29, 2011 at 8:16 pm #

    Hi Mairi –

    I love your stones – I’m taking part in this, too.

    Lovely to *meet* you.

    • alumpinthethroat January 31, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Thanks Rachel,

      I’ve found the project really rewarding – and just right for January too. I’m hoping next month to do a round up of some of the stones I really liked.

      Lovely to meet you too!

      Mairi

  4. Riddhi April 27, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    I absolutely love the last one.
    Where can I view a collection of your poetry?

Leave a Reply

