A trickle of stones

7 Jan

It’s nice to have a project to start the year with.  As I blogged last week I am starting the year by taking part in the A River of Stones project run by Fiona Robyn.  The project sees bloggers writing a small observation from each day, their stone, and posting it online.  I decided not to post everyday, mainly because I wouldn’t want to annoy my subscribers (bless them), so I am posting in batches – and these are my stones from the first week of January.

 

1st – Vapour Rub

The greasy stick of Vapour Rub

sits on my skin convecting it’s scent.

Reminding me of hot-water bottles, nylon sheets and home.

 

2nd – Beer

At first they ferociously dance

until my tounge becomes their root,

to hail against the roof of my mouth.

 

3rd – Whoops, got rather caught up in a game of Trivial Pursuit and forgot to write.

 

4th – Running

Like the bud of a stump

which was meant to be wing,

the fat glutted border between arse

and thigh flaps and shudders

with every step.  Not keeping time with my heart.

 

5th – Bed.

Skin shrink wraps and slips in to find a pool of heat.

The mattress sinks to hip and shoulder

the duvet sausage rolls me ’till morning.

 

6th – migraine

Pain ricochets between an iron band

round my head and a throb at the eye.

Codine Phosphate blurs.

 

7th – sunrise

Subfusc clouds and the orange burn, only there to frame

Edinburgh’s stand to attention skyline.

 

There are plenty more writers and non-writers who are posting their stones throughout the month, and if you are interested you can access their blogs through A River of Stones, or follow the stones on Twitter with #aros.  If you are interested in writing your own stones, it’s not to late to start, and let me know too.


4 Responses to “A trickle of stones”

  1. Mary Clark January 7, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

    The running one is my favourite (by a mile, ha ha ha). It is uglybeautiful and precise.

    • alumpinthethroat January 8, 2011 at 7:53 am #

      Thanks Mary. I have resolved to take up running to get fit, and boy do I wobble when I do it!

  2. Kerry January 10, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Running could describe each of my weekdays right now, you’ve got it spot on! You’re very talented x

    • alumpinthethroat January 10, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

      Goodness, thank you very much Kerry – I’m not used to such praise. That one, appears to have gone down very well with other women.

Leave a Reply

