Twit in residence

6 Dec

As I am sitting recuperating from my latest bout of illness I thought I would take the time to update my blog with my latest project.  I blogged a while ago on the excellent TraVerses night at the Traverse Theater, a night to explore poetry, but particular poetry in collaboration.  The first TraVerses was excellent, and certainly made me feel mono-talented, however after some thought I realised that I do have more than one talent, apparently I can work social media.

So for the next TraVerses, on the 13 December (8pm – be there!) I shall be the Tweeter in Residence.  I plan to tweet about the acts as they happen, so those who are not able to attend can still follow and be part of the evening using the hash tag #TraVerses.  Those who are able to be there should also be able to tweet as they watch.   However, the really exciting bit will be the twitter poem I will be creating with both the virtual and real audience.

I will tweet the first line of the first poem that is read on the night – as yet no one knows what this will be.  I will then invite the audience to tweet responses, the audience at the Traverse will be given tweet slips to do this.  Throughout the night I will collect and edit together the responses hopefully reading out a full, collaborative, poem at the very end – which I shall also put up on this blog later.

So for all those in Edinburgh and surroundings I hope, snow wiling, to see you there, and if you don’t live in Edinburgh that is no barrier to taking part.  Follow Traverse Theater and myself on twitter for more info nearer the night.

3 Responses to “Twit in residence”

  1. Danielle Farrow December 6, 2010 at 10:05 pm #

    Looking forward to this – grand idea re. twitter poem, too!

  2. alumpinthethroat December 7, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks Danielle – I’ve seen the running order, and I think it should be a great night. We just need to hope the snow holds off.

    • Titus December 11, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      I don’t tweet, but I’m hoping to be there. In person; snow, as you say, willing.

Leave a Reply

