Published and er, well..?

4 Nov

Today I had the happiness to come home to an email from Crafty Green Poet, Juliet Wilson, letting me know that one of my new poems Talking About It has been published on her blog Bolts of Silk.  Juliet uses Bolts to publish poets whose work she enjoys, and contains a large selection from all over the world.

The pleasant and relatively simple experience I had in submitting to Bolts is a vast contrast with another I had recently.  I submitted to an anthology which is going to be published in aid of a well-known charity.  Shortly after submitting I received an email from the editor who called my poem “very poignant” explaining that it would be included and asking me to write a dedication to my husband and also how I wished my name and copyright to appear.  I found it a bit odd to be asked to write a dedication to my husband, after all he  had cancer, it isn’t like he died from it, and I also found it odd to be asked about copyright, as no other editor I had worked with ever had.  However I submitted the dedication which was pronounced “perfect” and was told I would be given more details on publishers etc. in October.

Fast forward to October and I receive a short pro forma impersonal email telling me that I was not being included and that they hoped I would still buy a copy of the book.  I was taken very much by surprise.  If after such gushing acceptance emails and discussion of small inclusion details I would have expected, if in retrospect they decided not to include me, at the very least a personal email explaining and detailing their decision.

I emailed back, politely explaining my confusion and asking for an explanation. I have so far received no reply, I don’t expect one.

6 Responses to “Published and er, well..?”

  1. Mary Clark November 5, 2010 at 10:15 am #

    A simultaneous congratulations & a resounding BOO, HISS. I’ve had two similar boo hiss experiences at the hands of well-known organizations, and it is really disheartening to get nothing back, in terms of feedback.

  2. Mary Clark November 5, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    How wonderful that you had such a supportive and affirming experience after such a duff one. I’m really, really pleased to see a fellow poet getting places! Congratulations to you.

  3. Campbell November 5, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Just give thanks for the acceptance and be glad someone got it right. As for the others, a not very great man once said “I pity the poor fools.”

    • alumpinthethroat November 5, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

      Well, this isn’t even my worst experience at the hands of an editor/publisher, but the others will have to remain for my biography! But it does highlight it when people like Juliet are able to reply to you in a timely, professional and personable fashion.

  4. Crafty Green Poet November 5, 2010 at 5:54 pm #

    that’s weird about the charity anthology, very bad practice too.

    Thanks for your kind comments about Bolts of Silk. I always try to reply relatively promptly, I think its only fair. I do know that some editors get totally overwhelmed by submissions…

    • alumpinthethroat November 5, 2010 at 8:09 pm #

      On the charity anthology I’m putting it down to inexperience – the fact that the editor appeared so insistent that people include their copyright with the poem should have flagged it up immediately

Leave a Reply

