The vices and virtues of poets

24 Sep

Last night, after the excellent Kei Miller and Liz Niven launch at The Scottish Poetry Library I was speaking to Peggy Hughes about the need for poets, particular those beginning, to be tenacious.  It started me thinking about what virtues, or vices, poets need to have in order to get on, survive and develop.  The list I have come up with so far is

  • Tenacity
  • Honesty
  • An observant eye
  • An inquiring mind

I would be interested to hear readers ideas about what virtues or vices are needed to survive in contemporary poetry…

One Response to “The vices and virtues of poets”

  1. Rick September 29, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    Tenacity is definitely the most important thing, I think. On a less visible level, perhaps an amount of good fortune is a good thing, too. Your piece reminds me of a conversation I had recently with a poet friend regarding honesty in poetry. Honesty away from the poem is required, yes; however, is telling a tiny lie within the poem ok if it makes the poem stronger? I dunno??

Leave a Reply

