Today IS the day

9 Jul

Regular readers of my bog will know that over the past few weeks I have been orchestrating a simultaneous blogging project, among my fellow poetry bloggers.  Well, today is the day and all the posts should be up on my colleagues blogs.  I am heartily looking forward to reading what each blogger has written.  And theme that everyone has been writing to?

swear

In choosing this theme I was, in part, giving in to my more mischievous side.  I, of course, love swearing.  A well placed swear can be extremely cathartic and substitute swears such as shoot or sugar, don’t have the same impact.  Let’s face it, substitution is just not cool.  Either swear or don’t.  Don’t pretend.  You’re not Ned Flanders.  Grown-up adult people should be mature enough to make a judgment on weather to swear or hold back, without resorting to the attention seeking ploy of not really doing something but still trying to imply you are a little bit naughty.

On the other hand there is also the more serious side to swearing.  To swear allegiance, to swear an oath, to make a vow.  It appears this does not really happen much in modern life, outside of the courtroom or the marriage ceremony.  Perhaps the decline in marriage, is less to do with a lack of interest in commitment from couples, but more to do with the acknowledgment of the deep binding seriousness of the vows that we could choose to make?  I for one, refused to vow to obey my husband during our wedding – why make a vow you know you are going to break?

Those are just two of the aspects of the word, I am more than confident that my crew of trusty blogger mates will find many and varied permutations and tensions within the word.  I am really excited to read what they have posted.  I hope you will enjoy the experiment and also find some blogs and poets who you really enjoy.  Please feel free to let me know what you think about the project, your feedback will help me decide if its worth doing again.

To continue on with the project, please click on any of the blogs below, and read.

Floatsom, Sunny Dunny, Toungefire, desktopsallye, Cadwallander, One Night Stanzas, Russell Jones, Written in my Hand, Tony William’s Poetry Blog, de la poesia y otras disciplinas en palabras.

6 Responses to “Today IS the day”

  1. sunnydunny July 17, 2010 at 9:13 am #

    It’s intersting to see all the different permutations and viewpoints Mairi. Well done.

  2. sally evans July 17, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    very good Mairi. I havent had time to more than scan some of them as I am trying to work as well this morning but I will go over them all thoroughly by tonight. Writers need to take on board this powerful feature of language and come to terms with various ways of using it.
    Sally

  3. sally evans July 17, 2010 at 10:10 am #

    yes, do it again and KEEP IT DIFFICULT

  4. Russell Jones July 17, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Thanks Mairi, interesting things said and written. Have you done your own piece other than what you posted to introduce the project?

  5. alumpinthethroat July 18, 2010 at 7:07 pm #

    Thanks for the warm comments everyone. Russell – I haven’t posted anything else, as I saw myself more as an administrator for the project. Perhapses next time. I however really enjoyed your piece. I think it would perform well.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Today IS the day « A lump in the throat -- Topsy.com - July 17, 2010

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by filmpoem, Mairi Sharratt. Mairi Sharratt said: the experimental #poetry #blogging project is live. You can start reading it here http://wp.me/pFCea-6X […]

Leave a Reply

