How embarrassing

28 Mar

A while ago a site about dyslexia asked me to write a piece for their blog called an “inspiration story”.  I am dyslexic, and the idea of these inspiration stories is that younger dyslexic people would be encouraged in pursuing their dreams.

The blog post was published this weekend.  I have to say though, that I am horribly embarrassed by it.  Not my own writing, but the introduction that the lovely Goga, who is in charge of the blog has given me.  Words such as exceptional and accomplished have been bandied about.  Words that I would never use to describe myself.

For me my dyslexia, although very challenging, is not really too big a deal.  Like all dyslexics I was born that way, and to me I feel there is nothing brave about something you have had no choice over.  It is people who make difficult choices who are the really exceptional ones.  I have just got on with what I’ve been given.

Anyway, you might want to read it.

2 Responses to “How embarrassing”

  1. Elizabeth Rimmer March 29, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    It’s good to hear that story, Mairi! My youngest daughter is also dyslexic, has a first degree and is applying to do a PhD. She wasn’t diagnosed until she was at university, which seems odd now, considering how awful her spelling was!

  2. alumpinthethroat April 2, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

    I wish your daughter every luck Elizabeth. I admire anyone who does a PhD, they are very hard work, and as a dyslexic it shows a lot of determination and tenacity.

Leave a Reply

