Performing, and other news

23 Mar

This Friday, as part of the This Collection showcase I shall be performing at McEwan Hall, Edinburgh, with other This Collection poets.  I am really looking forward to performing in one of the most amazing buildings in Edinburgh, and excited to see what many of the film makers have started to produce to accompany mine, and other poems in the series.

Doors open at 6.30pm and poets will start performing at seven.  What will be really interesting about this performance is that instead of one stage and a static audience, there will be four different stages with four sets of poets on.  This means that the audience as well as wandering from film to film, can also wander from poet to poet, staying for a whole set, or picking up and wandering off as they wish.

This is a very innovative way to perform, placing poets in a “viewing” position, much like a painting in a gallery where the audience is in control, rather than in a “reading” position more like actors on a stage, where the audience is essentially passive.  I will be interested to see how this works, and what the reaction is to it.

But when are you on Mairi, I hear you cry.  I should, all being well, be on at 8pm on the Right Gallery Station on the First Floor.  However I would also urge you to check out the other poets, there are some there who I am looking forward to hearing again, and others I am excited to hear for the first time.  I just have to work out how I get around to hearing everyone.

On the other new front I was surprised this morning to find my blog listed in the Top 100 Poetry Blogs at the Accredited Online Colleges Blog I must say that I have never heard of the Accredited Online Colleges before, and I have no idea how they found my blog, but I suppose that is the wonder of the internet.  I am looking forward to gradually getting through the list, as well as checking out all the links to online resources you were kind enough to send.

And lastly, I finally succumbed and joined twitter.  I can be found @lumpinthethroat, and I am looking for interesting poets, people or anything else to follow, so please keep your suggestions flowing.

4 Responses to “Performing, and other news”

  1. Claire A March 23, 2010 at 11:59 pm #

    Thanks Mairi! Looking forward to it! 🙂

  2. Andy Sewina March 24, 2010 at 1:57 am #

    Phew, I wish I could be in Edinburgh to see this! I saw you listed on 100 best poetry blogs – and I’m impressed! I’ll check you out at Twitter, I put nanofiction on there sometimes.

  3. Elizabeth Rimmer March 24, 2010 at 8:19 am #

    I am intending to be there, arthritis willing.

  4. alumpinthethroat March 25, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    Andy – really interested to read your nonfiction.

    Elizabeth, hope you can make it. Would be nice to see you again.

Leave a Reply

