A poem begins…

13 Oct

The title of my blogg is taken from a quote by Robert Frost

A poem begins as a lump in the throat, a sense of wrong, a homesickness, a lovesickness.

This quote stood out to me, mainly for it’s physicality.  In it Frost is not just seeing a poem as something ethereal, something of the mind or emotions, things unquantifiable, but as something all to physical.  I can well remember the feeling as a child of trying so hard to hold my tears back that the lump in my throat began to hurt.

The birth of a poem here is something that can be discomforting, painful.  He goes on to describe it as a “a sense of wrong”.  He does not let us know if this is a righteous sense of wrong, or the unease and discomfort that we all feel at points in our lives.  It is also describes as “a homesickness, a lovesickness”.  These are both things that while easy to cast in a romantic light, are all too painful for those who experience them, and can come directly from that sense of wrong previously mentioned.  It is wrong that s/he does not love me.  It is wrong that they are not here.  It is wrong that I am not there. These are all states that can vary in their degree of painfulness, but are all painful, and will all be experienced by most feeling human beings.

I enjoy any description of  what a poem is that does not contain the words truth, beauty, soul 0r anything vaguely related to sun sets.  Mainly because once you start writing poetry, and I mean seriously writing poetry, you find it is excruciatingly difficult.  If it was easy, everyone would be doing it.

5 Responses to “A poem begins…”

  1. Jesús Ge October 13, 2009 at 8:34 pm #

    Great!
    I agree with you in that feeling about the beginning of a poem.
    It’s a good post to start. Congratulations!!

    I’ll see you a lot of times.

  2. Sally Evans October 13, 2009 at 8:45 pm #

    Congrats on starting your blog, Just keep going and you will be surprised where it leads you! Will look in again.

  3. sunnydunny October 14, 2009 at 10:28 am #

    Hi Mairi. I’ll check your blog regularly now.
    Colin

  4. Janie McKie October 14, 2009 at 8:52 pm #

    Hi Mairi,

    Frost’s is certainly a wonderfully visceral description of the impetus to write – I think it applies to other art forms too. Do you? Or do you think there is something particular to the birth of a poem that sets it apart from other forms?

    Janie

  5. alumpinthethroat October 15, 2009 at 12:27 pm #

    A cery interesting question Jane. I think that as writing poetry is my thing I would love to say that there is a completley unique process for it. But I think creativity is creativity no matter in what medium it is expressed.

    I would be interested to see if any research has been done into different types of creativity. For instance is the creativity needed to knit a jumper or bake a cake the same as the creativity needed to write a poem or paint a picture. Are we being awfuly snobbish about it, or is there actually different “types” of creativity.

Leave a Reply

